Another installment of Kate Cunningham’s Confessions of a Converted Pedestrian….

My name is Kate Cunningham and I hate weather. I am a sun baby. Dark of look and descended from international swarthy types I like heat, sun and an absence of inclemency. Also, I have an incredibly expensive ‘urban parka’ purchased for pushing prams but returned to the cupboard in shame upon realising its not remotely waterproof. Bear Grylls would weep. These things were thrown into sharp focus when my daughter wore us down and we agreed to rehome 2 miniature poodles.

It would be impossible to describe how this has changed my life. In no particular order revelations include the following: I’m not a cat person, I’m a dog person; dogs are not lots of work, they are an endless joy; if you want to start walking, dogs are the answer. I am lucky enough to live adjacent to Pollok Country Park which is the most spectacular place to visit. I am now lucky enough to walk my dogs round it every day. I discovered a wonderful circuit which is 3 miles long along the river and through the woods and heartily recommend it for its views, solitude, gentle inclines and fresh air (details are here). People who know me are reading this and wondering if I’ve been kidnapped. Not famed for my love of activity am I now converted? I suspect the winter might test my resolve but the dry, temperate autumn was a gift for a newly converted pedestrian. Bring it on, Scotland, I’ve got walking shoes and I’m not afraid to use them!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Pollok Country Park

– Kate Cunningham

